Skip to Content

University Council

The University Council advises the Executive Board of the university and supervises its management. In particular, its tasks include the election of the members of the Executive Board, the approval of the University Development Plan, the draft of the target agreements and the business plan.

The University Council of the OWL University of Sciences and Arts has 8 members (7 external members, 1 internal member). They are elected for a term of office of five years.



Prof. Dr. Antonia B. Kesel
Head of the Bionics Innovation Center at the University of Applied Sciences Bremen

Vice Chairman

Mr Klaus Boehme
Chairman of the federal departmental board for education, science and research in ver.di,
Former Managing Director of the Conference of State Staff Councils of the Universities in NRW

Further members

Mr Ernst-Michael Hasse
Honorary President of the Chamber of Industry and Commerce Lippe zu Detmold and Managing Director of Schwering & Hasse Elektrodraht GmbH

Ms Andrea Frank
Head of the program area "Research, Transfer and Science Dialogue" at the Stifterverband Education, Science and Innovation as well as Managing Director of the Foundation Education and Society in the Stifterverband

Prof. Dr. Klaus Maas
Head of the Department of Environmental Information Systems at the OWL University of Sciences and Arts

Ms Claudia Schare
Member of the WDR Board of Directors

Prof. Barbara Schwarze
Professor for Gender and Diversity Studies at the Faculty of Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Applied Sciences Osnabrück

Dr. Ulrich Stiebel
Co-owner of the Stiebel Eltron Group, Holzminden

Meeting Dates

  • 09.03.2022 (digital)
  • 18.05.2022 (Höxter)
  • 21.09.2022 (Lemgo)
  • 09.11.2022 (Detmold)

Click here to go to the archive


Dr. Katrin Bünten
phone.: +49 5261 702 2002