History

The OWL University of Applied Sciences and Arts (TH OWL) has been bearing its name since 2019 but can look back on half a century of university history. As early as 1891, there was a technical college in Lemgo where students could also study electrical engineering. This was followed by an engineering school in the 1920s and 1930s. In the course of the new foundation of state engineering schools after the Second World War, the "State Engineering School for Mechanical Engineering Lemgo" started its operation on October 1, 1964 with 36 students of mechanical engineering. On August 1, 1971 it became the "Fachhochschule Lippe" with its seat in Lemgo.

 

Anniversary 2021

A reason to celebrate: In 2021, the OWL University of Applied Sciences and Arts (TH OWL) will celebrate 50 years of university history.

 

To the 2021 anniversary

Milestones

Before and after its foundation, the following institutions, events and developments have shaped the TH OWL of today:

 

1964new foundation:  The State School of Engineering Lemgo with 36 mechanical engineering students is founded. Four years later, the electrical engineering department is founded.
1971 Foundation of the university - On August 1, the University of Applied Sciences Lippe (FH Lippe) is founded as one of 15 state universities of applied sciences in the state of NRW.
2002Growing together - The university grows and becomes the University of Applied Sciences Lippe and Höxter (FH LuH), because in the course of the dissolution of the North Rhine-Westphalian comprehensive universities, the Höxter department (until then part of the University of Paderborn) becomes part of the university. The name of the university is supplemented accordingly. From 2007 the university will be called 'Hochschule Ostwestfalen-Lippe'.
2011Expansion of study places - over 6,000 students for the first time
2016

PhD opportunities - Founding of the Graduate Center.OWL

2017Historical main building - The main building at the Lemgo site is classified as a historical monument.
2018ICL e. V. - Foundation of the Innovation Campus Lemgo e. V. by the Technical University OWL, the Old Hanseatic City of Lemgo, the district of Lippe, the Fraunhofer IOSB-INA, the Paderborn-Lippe District Craft Association, the Lipperlandhalle GmbH and the Chamber of Industry and Commerce Lippe zu Detmold.
2019

New name: Technical University of Applied Sciences East Westphalia-Lippe

Geschichte

Die Technische Hochschule Ostwestfalen-Lippe (TH OWL) trägt ihren Namen seit 2019, kann jedoch auf ein halbes Jahrhundert Hochschulgeschichte zurückblicken. Schon 1891 gab es in Lemgo ein Technikum, an dem man auch Elektrotechnik studieren konnte. Dem folgte in den 1920er und 1930er Jahren eine Ingenieursschule nach. Im Zuge der Neugründungen staatlicher Ingenieurschulen nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg nahm die „Staatliche Ingenieurschule für Maschinenwesen Lemgo“ am 1. Oktober 1964 ihren Betrieb mit 36 Studenten des Maschinenbaus auf. Am 1. August 1971 wurde daraus die „Fachhochschule Lippe“ mit Sitz in Lemgo.

Hochschuljubiläum 2021

Ein Grund zum Feiern: Im Jahre 2021 feiert die Technische Hochschule Ostwestfalen-Lippe (TH OWL) 50 Jahre Hochschulgeschichte.

Zum Jubiläum 2021

Meilensteine

Vor und nach der Gründung haben folgende Institutionen, Ereignisse und Entwicklungen die heutige TH OWL geprägt:

1964Neugründung:  Die Staatliche Ingenieursschule Lemgo mit 36 Maschinenbau-Studierenden gründet sich. Vier Jahre später wird die Abteilung Elektrotechnik gegründet.
1971Gründung der Hochschule - Am 1. August wird die Fachhochschule Lippe (kurz: FH Lippe) als eine  von 15 staatlichen FH des Landes NRW gegründet.
2002Zusammenwachsen - Die Hochschule erhält Zuwachs und wird zur Fachhochschule Lippe und Höxter (FH LuH), denn im Zuge der Auflösung der nordrhein-westfälischen Gesamthochschulen wird die Abteilung Höxter (bis dahin zugehörig zur Universität Paderborn) Teil der Hochschule. Der Hochschulname wird entsprechend ergänzt. Ab 2007 nennt sich die Hochschule 'Hochschule Ostwestfalen-Lippe".
2011Studienplatzausbau - Erstmals über 6.000 Studierende
2016Promotionsmöglichkeiten - Gründung des Graduiertenzentrum.OWL
2017Historisches Hauptgebäude - Das Häuptgebäude am Standort Lemgo wird unter Denkmalschutz gestellt.
2018ICL e. V. - Gründung des Innovation Campus Lemgo e. V. durch die Technische Hochschule OWL, die Alte Hansestadt Lemgo, den Kreis Lippe, das Fraunhofer IOSB-INA, die Kreishandwerkerschaft Paderborn-Lippe, die Lipperlandhalle GmbH und die Industrie- und Handelskammer Lippe zu Detmold.
2019Neuer Name: Technische Hochschule Ostwestfalen-Lippe