inIT - Your Research Partner for Industrial Information Technologies

Institute Industrial IT (inIT) of Technische Hochschule Ostwestfalen-Lippe is one of the leading research institutes in the field of intelligent automation. Industrial communication, engineering and configuration, image processing, information fusion, analysis and diagnosis, human-technology interaction, authentication and medical databases (data infrastructures) are among the institute's fields of expertise. Since 2006, more than 70 employees have been working on public funded joint projects or on industrial research projects. inIT is one of the formative research institutes in the cluster "it's OWL - Intelligent Technical Systems OstWestfalenLippe".

The university institute is located in the heart of Ostwestfalen-Lippe, one of the most important clusters of German mechanical engineering, industrial electronics and automation in Germany.

 

Here you´ll find the current anual report.

Mission: IT meets Automation

At inIT information and communication technologies (ICT) are harmonized with the high demands of automation. After all, intelligent automation is the driving force behind innovation not only for german mechanical and plant engineering, but also for other sectors such as food technology and production or health care and the digitalisation of the community. The focus of work is on the challenge of precisely recording information, distributing it efficiently and processing it effectively. In this way, the inIT contributes to strengthening german companies, institutions and society.

Vision: Internet for machines, devices and systems

Since the founding of inIT, it has pursued the vision of limitless communication under the guiding principle „Where IT meets Automation“, in which information is available at any place at any time in the required quality. Through computer intelligence and machine learning, networked intelligent automation can be transferred to various industries. Thus future intelligent technical systems are characterized by self-optimization, self-diagnosis and high usability and can thus react better to changed and fluctuating market situations.

Research needs

Major innovations in mechanical and industrial engineering are based on information and communication technologies (ICT) and industrial automation technology. Embedded real-time systems represent core elements of industrial information technology.

 

The need for research in this field is motivated by the fact that I&C technologies can rarely be used directly in industrial and production systems as well as in digitisation. In this context, essential innovations are based on intelligent automation. Therefore, there is also a need for research in Artificial Intelligence for Embedded Systems and Edge Computing. These cannot be used directly in complex AI scenarios.

 

Some of the complex reasons for this are:

  • Required real-time capability and high availability requirements of production processes
  • Limited resources (memory, processor power) of the device technology used
  • Necessary system integration of information and communication technologies and computer intelligence into existing structures
  • High demands on IT security and functional security
  • Conflict between long-term availability of capital goods and the rapidity of ICT technologies
  • the complexity of technical products and systems is greatly increased by ICT
  • Learning on small amounts of data
  • real-time data analysis



The Institute Industrial IT

In the information age, the impact of consumer technologies on automation has increased as has the complexity of mechanical and plant engineering and the challenges related to technologies for smart cities, smart health, life sciences and other application industries. Real-time Ethernet systems, radio-based communication technologies, cybersecurity as well as computer intelligence and human-technology interaction are essential for the continuous exchange of information. This ensures a good integration of intelligent automation in IT processes of manufacturing companies and public institutions such as hospitals or municipal management.

In resource-limited, embedded systems, inIT is concerned with the challenge of precisely capturing information, distributing it efficiently and securely, and processing it intelligently using AI/CI methods. For the development and introduction of new products, information technologies must be brought into line with the high requirements of automation.

Intelligent automation is the innovation engine for "Intelligent Technical Systems" and thus decisive for the competitiveness of German companies, institutions and society. inIT is one of the leading research institutions in the top cluster "it's OWL - Intelligente Technische Systeme OstWestfalenLippe".

Contact

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Volker Lohweg
Institute Director inIT - Institut für industrielle Informationstechnik

volker.lohweg@th-owl.de
Telefon: +49 (0)5261 702 2408 oder 5937
Fax: +49 (0)5261 702 2407

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. phil. Dr. rer. soc. Carsten Röcker
Deputy director inIT

inIT - Ihr kompetenter Forschungspartner für industrielle Informationstechnik

Das Institut für industrielle Informationstechnik (inIT) der Technischen Hochschule Ostwestfalen-Lippe ist eine der führenden Forschungseinrichtungen auf dem Gebiet der intelligenten Automation. Industrielle Kommunikation, Engineering und Konfiguration, Bildverarbeitung, Informationsfusion, Analyse und Diagnose, Mensch-Technik-Interaktion, Authentifikation und Medizinische Datenbanken (Dateninfrastrukturen) gehören zu den Kompetenzfeldern des Instituts. Seit 2006 arbeiten derzeit mehr als 70 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter an öffentlich geförderten Verbundvorhaben oder an Projekten der industriellen Auftragsforschung. Das inIT ist eines der prägenden Forschungsinstitute im Spitzencluster „it´s OWL – Intelligente Technische Systeme OstWestfalen-Lippe“.

Das Hochschulinstitut befindet sich inmitten von Ostwestfalen-Lippe, einem der wichtigsten Cluster des deutschen Maschinenbaus, Industrieelektronik und Automation in Deutschland.

 

Den aktuellen Jahresbericht finden Sie hier.

Leitbild: IT meets Automation

Am inIT werden Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien (IKT) mit den hohen Anforderungen der Automation in Einklang gebracht. Denn nicht nur für den deutschen Maschinen- und Anlagenbau, sondern auch für andere Branchen wie die Lebensmitteltechnologie und -herstellung oder auch das Gesundheitswesen und die Digitalisierung des Gemeinwesens, ist die intelligente Automation der treibende Innovationsmotor. Der Fokus der Arbeiten am inIT liegt dabei auf der Herausforderung, Informationen präzise zu erfassen, effizient zu verteilen und wirkungsvoll zu verarbeiten. Damit leistet das Institut einen Beitrag zur Stärkung deutscher Unternehmen,  Einrichtungen und der Gesellschaft.

Vision: Internet für Maschinen, Anlagen und Systeme

Seit der Institutsgründung verfolgt das inIT unter dem Leitbild Where IT meets Automation die Vision einer grenzenlosen Kommunikation, in der Informationen an jedem Ort zu jeder Zeit in der notwendigen Qualität zur Verfügung stehen. Durch Computerintelligenz und Maschinelles Lernen gelingt es,vernetzte intelligente Automation in verschiedene Branchen zu tragen. Künftige intelligente technische Systeme zeichnen sich so durch Selbstoptimierung, Selbstdiagnose und hohe Nutzbarkeit aus und können damit besser auf geänderte und schwankende Marktsituationen reagieren.

Forschungsbedarf

Der Forschungsbedarf in diesem Feld motiviert sich aus der Tatsache, daß die IuK-Technologien in den seltensten Fällen direkt in industriellen und Produktionssystemen sowie in der Digitalisierung eingesetzt werden können. In diesem Kontext gehen wesentliche Innovationen von der intelligenten Automation aus. Daher besteht Forschungsbedarf auch in der Künstlichen Intelligenz für  Eingebettete Systeme und Edge Computing. Diese können  nicht direkt in komplexen KI-Szenarien eingesetzt werden.

 

Einige der vielschichtigen Gründe dafür sind:

 

  • Erforderliche Echtzeitfähigkeit und hohe Verfügbarkeitsanforderungen von Produktionsprozessen
  • Beschränkte Ressourcen (Speicher, Prozessorleistung) der eingesetzten Gerätetechnik
  • Notwendige Systemintegration der IuK-Technologien und Computerintelligenz in bestehende Strukturen
  • Hohe Anforderungen an IT-Sicherheit und funktionale Sicherheit
  • Konflikt zwischen langfristiger Verfügbarkeit von Investitionsgütern und der Schnelllebigkeit von IuK-Technologien
  • die Komplexität der technischen Produkte und Systeme durch die IuK stark erhöht wird.
  • Lernen auf geringen Datenmengen
  • Echtzeitdatenanalyse

 

Das Institut für industrielle Informationstechnik

Im Informationszeitalter hat sich der Einfluss der Technologien aus dem Konsumentenbereich auf die Automation in gleichem Maße erhöht, wie die Komplexität des Maschinen- und Anlagenbaus und die Herausforderungen in Bezug auf Technologien für Smart Cities, Smart Health, Life Sciences und weitere Anwendungsbranchen. Für den durchgängigen Informationsaustausch sind Echtzeit-Ethernetsysteme, funkbasierte Kommunikationstechniken, Cybersecurity ebenso wie Computerintelligenz und Mensch-Technik-Interaktion essentiell für ihren Einsatz. So wird eine gute Integration intelligenter  Automation in IT-Prozesse produzierender Unternehmen und öffentliche Einrichtungen wie Krankenhäuser oder kommunales Management gewährleistet.

In ressourcenbeschränkten, eingebetteten Systemen befasst sich das inIT mit der Herausforderung, Informationen präzise zu erfassen, effizient und sicher zu verteilen und intelligent mit KI/CI-Methoden zu verarbeiten. Für die Entwicklung und Einführung neuer Produkte müssen Informationstechnologien mit den hohen Anforderungen der Automation in Einklang gebracht werden.

Die intelligente Automation ist Innovationsmotor für „Intelligente Technische Systeme“ und damit entscheidend für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit deutscher Unternehmen, Einrichtungen und der Gesellschaft. Das inIT ist eine der führenden Forschungseinrichtungen im Spitzencluster „it’s OWL – Intelligente Technische Systeme OstWestfalen-Lippe“.

Institutsleiter

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Volker Lohweg
Institutsleiter inIT

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. phil. Dr. rer. soc. Carsten Röcker
stv. Institutsleiter inIT

 

 

inIT-Vorstand

Prof. Dr. rer. medic. Philipp Bruland
Vorstand

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Helene Dörksen
Vorstand

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Stefan Heiss
Vorstand

M.Sc. Christoph-Alexander Holst
Vorstand

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Jasperneite
Vorstand

B.Sc. Benedikt Lücke
Vorstand

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Uwe Meier
Vorstand

Dipl.-Math. Natalia Moriz
Vorstand

Prof. Dr. Henning Trsek
Vorstand

Dr.-Ing. Lukasz Wisniewski
Vorstand

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Witte
Vorstand